We highly recommend enabling JavaScript for the best experience. You can find detailed instructions for your browser at enable-javascript.com.

Graduate Faculty

Center for Energy, Environment & Sustainability

The Sustainability Graduate Programs core curriculum and electives are taught by faculty from multiple departments in the Physical Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities, as well as the School of Law and the Schools of Business. Our program’s inclusion of leading faculty members from a majority of the University’s schools and academic units makes it distinct among all other sustainability focused graduate degrees.

Lead Faculty:

Lucas Johnson
SUS 701: Global Human Systems
Dr. Johnston’s interdisciplinary educational background includes degrees in Religion and Nature (PhD), Environmental Ethics (Graduate Certificate), Theology (MA), and Psychology (BA). His research focuses on the relationships between biocultural evolution and religion, with particular attention to environmental social movements and cross-cultural political dialog related to ideas about nature. He is the author of Religion and Sustainability: Social Movements and the Politics of the Environment (2013), co-editor of Science and Religion: One Planet, Many Possibilities (2014), and editor of Higher Education for Sustainability: Cases, Challenges and Opportunities Across the Curriculum (2012).


Dan Fogel 
SUS 702: Sustainable Organizational Management
Dr. Fogel is the Director of the Sustainability Graduate Program. He specializes in strategic management, especially innovation processes in firms, including those located in  emerging and transition economies and in emerging industries.  His research and teaching interest are on sustainability practices and principles,  international business and strategy development, and innovation for large organizations.  He has worked extensively as a consultant nationally and internationally for diverse organizations, such General Electric, Motorola (Brazil), Lockheed Martin, Lucent (Brazil), TESS (Brazil), AT&T and Bank of America.  His awards include research grants, several teacher of the year awards, a Fulbright Scholarship to Brazil, the 1988 Winner of the Yoder-Heneman Award, and several times the Distinguished Professor Awards.

Michael Gross
SUS 703: Natural Sciences for Sustainability
Dr. Gross an Assistant Professor of Chemistry. His teaching expertise includes Inorganic Chemistry, Materials Chemistry, Chemistry and Physics of Solid State Materials, and Green Technologies. His research projects focus on studies solid state materials, particularly mixed metal oxides, for electrochemical energy conversion applications. He has a MS and PhD in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering from the University of Pennsylvania. Dr Gross is the recipient of the 2015 Wake Forest University Teaching in Innovation Award.

Vanessa Zboreak
SUS 704: Sustainability Law and Policy

Vanessa Zboreak joined Wake Forest University School of Law in 2011 and currently teaches LAWR and a seminar in Food Law and Policy as well as a portion of the Public Law course in the MSL program. Her previous roles at Wake Forest University have been as a PEM Fellow in the Center for Energy, Environment, and Sustainability; and a Clinical Teaching Fellow at the School of Law. Her research centers around land use law as a public policy instrument, particularly state and local government land use policies influencing food systems, environmental justice, environmental health, sustainable communities, and demographic shifts. She received a B.A. from Grinnell College and a J.D. from Wake Forest.

Dedee for CEES

Dedee DeLongpré Johnston
SUS 705: Applied Sustainability Practicum
DeLongpré Johnston is the University’s Director of Sustainability. She has a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of Southern California with a concentration in entrepreneurial studies and a master’s of business administration with an emphasis in sustainable management from the Presidio Graduate School in San Francisco.  She has 18 years of experience in nonprofit management, primarily in the areas of education, sustainability, and the environment. Her most recent appointment was as director of the University of Florida’s Office of Sustainability.   DeLongpré Johnston serves on the board of the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education, as the Vice-chair of the board. She was named one of the 10 Innovators of the Year in 2007 by Florida Trend magazine, was featured in a cover story in the October 2008 issue of Sustainability: The Journal of Record, and was awarded the President’s Medallion by University of Florida President J. Bernard Machen in 2009

Jon Clift
SUS 706: Applied Sustainability Practicum
Jon joined the Sustainability Graduate Program in 2014 as the Associate Director of Outreach. His background is in design, marketing, and natural resources. Jon graduated from Duke University with a Masters of Environmental Management from the Nicholas School of the Environment. He strives to create connections for our students to the world outside that spark ideas, undiscovered passions, and innovation.

Supporting Program Faculty:

catanosoJustin Catanoso
Program Director, Journalism and Associate Professor of the Practice



Keith Bonin Keith Bonin
Professor and Chair of Physics



SaSaylor Breckenridgeylor Breckenridge

Associate Professor, Sociology



Robert ErhardtRobert Erhardt
Assistant Professor of Math



Steve FolmarSteve Folmar
Assistant Professor, Cultural/Applied Anthropology



Michael Gross

Michael Gross
Assistant Professor of Chemistry



Dilip KondepudiDilip Kondepudi
Professor of Chemistry


John KnoxJohn Knox

Henry C. Lauerman Professor of International Law


Judith MaderaJudith Madera

Associate Professor of English



Alan for CEESAlan Palmiter
Associate Dean of Graduate Programs, School of Law
Howard L. Oleck Professor of Business Law


Sidney ShapiroSidney Shapiro
University Distinguished Chair in Law


Miles HeadshotMiles Silman

CEES Director
Professor of Biology


Steve VirgilSteve Virgil
Director of the Community Law & Business Clinic, Associate Clinical Professor of Law


Ron Von BurgRon Von Burg
Assistant Professor of Communication



Amy WallisAmy Wallis
Director of Global Initiatives, Professor of Practice



Robert WhaplesRobert Whaples
Professor of Economics


Richard Williams for CEESRichard Williams
Reynolds Professor of Physics